According to the U.S. Department of Transportation, on average, one person is killed in a drunk driving accident and every two minutes, one person is injured as a result of a drunk driving accident. Everyone is aware that drinking and driving is dangerous. Each and every day, people are injured or killed by someone driving drunk. Not to mention the fact that no matter what state you live in, drinking and driving is a crime and could land you behind bars. In the state of New Hampshire, it considered a crime if you are driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or above.
New Hampshire Aggravated DWI Laws
In New Hampshire, aggravated DWI is considered to be when you have a blood alcohol level content (BAC) of .18% or above, are speeding at 30 miles per hour or more over the listed speed limit, cause an accident that results in serious bodily injury, attempt to run from police officers or you have someone in your car that is under 16 years of age. You may also be charged with aggravated DWI if you are driving with a suspended or revoked license or if you have several DWI convictions on your record. Being charged with aggravated DWI may enhance your penalties.
New Hampshire DWI Implied Consent Laws
So, what are DWI implied consent laws? Well, in the state of New Hampshire, if you are pulled over by the police for driving while intoxicated (DWI), you are asked to take a test to determine if you are impaired and you refuse to do so, it is considered implied consent and you will be told what your administrative penalties are at that time. For a first offense, your license will be suspended for 180 days and 2 years for a second offense or third offense. These penalties are in addition to fines, driver intervention program and possible jail time.
New Hampshire Underage DWI Laws
In the state of New Hampshire, the legal drinking age is 21, meaning if you are under the age of 21 and you are drinking, this is an illegal act. There are absolutely no exceptions to this rule as the state has zero tolerance when it comes to underage drinking. If you are under the age of 21 and driving while under the influence of alcohol, you may be cited if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .02% or above.
In the state of New Hampshire, according to the Department of Health and Human Services, in 2013, the state saw 4,763 DWI convictions and in 2012, there were 32 deaths in the state, resulting from alcohol-impaired driving. These numbers are certainly alarming, but they can also be reduced by ensuring motor vehicle drivers do not drink and drive, for any reason. Try clicking here for more help.